Giving to CREOL CREOL, The College of Optics & Photonics
Dr. Eric W. Van Stryland

Dr. Eric W. Van Stryland

University Trustee Chair, Pegasus Professor of Optics & Photonics

Nonlinear Optics



407-823-6835 (Office)
407-222-1389 (Mobile)


CREOL 271 (Office)


Eric Van Stryland received a PhD in Physics in 1976, from the Univ. of Arizona, Optical Sciences Center, where he worked on optical coherent transients and photon counting statistics. He worked in femtosecond pulse production, multiphoton absorption, and laser induced damage at the Center for Laser Studies, Univ. of Southern California. He joined the physics department at the Univ. of North Texas in l978 helping to form the Center for Applied Quantum Electronics. In l987 he joined the newly formed CREOL (Center for Research and Education in Optics and Lasers) at the Univ. of Central Florida. NSF and DoD have funded him for the past 30 years. His current research interests are in the characterization of the nonlinear optical properties of materials and their temporal response as well as the applications of these nonlinear materials properties for optical switching, beam control etc.  He developed the Z-scan technique and established the methodology for applying Kramers-Kronig relations to ultrafast nonlinearities and developed the field of cascaded second-order effects. The JQE publication on Z-scan has been noted as the most highly cited paper in the journal’s 30 year history by a factor of 2. He is a fellow of the Optical Society of America (OSA), IEEE, SPIE and APS, a past member of the OSA and LIA Boards of Directors, former co-chair of the OSA Science and Engineering Council. He also served as a topical editor for Optics Letters.  He was elected President of the OSA for 2006. He graduated 31 Ph.D.'s and published ~300 papers and is on the ISI ‘highly cited’ list.  In 2003 he was awarded the highest honor UCF bestows, the Pegasus Award (earlier he was co-recipient of UNT's highest award). He was Director of the School of Optics/CREOL from 1999 to 2004.  With the elevation of the School to a College, he became its first Dean. In addition, Governor Jeb Bush established the Florida Photonics Center of Excellence (FPCE) in 2003 and he was the Director of that Center along with CREOL, both centers within the College.  In a second round of centers of excellence, the College established the Townes Laser Institute named after the inventor of the maser and laser, Charles Hard Townes.  In January, 2009 he retired as Dean but continues as a faculty member in the College, and he received UCF’s Researcher of the Year Award.  He became a Trustee Chair in 2012, and was awarded the R.W. Wood Prize of the OSA in 2012.

Awards & Honors

American Physical Society (APS) Fellow
IEEE Photonics Society Fellow
International Society for Optics and Photonics (SPIE) Fellow
Optical Society of America (OSA) Fellow
2012 OSA R. W. Wood Prize
2012 UCF Trustee Chair
2009 Research Incentive Award (RIA)
2007 Office of Research & Commercialization Millionaire's Club
2006 Multidisciplinary University Research Initiative (MURI) grant
2006 President of the OSA
2005 Florida Trend magazine's one of the "174 Most Influential Floridians"
2001 Appointed to the Mayor of Orlando’s (Glenda Hood) High Technology Advisory Board
1999 Graduate Teacher of the Year, School of Optics
1998 University of Central Florida PEP award
1997 Elected to the Board of Directors of the OSA
1995 Honorary Professor
1995 Topical editor for Optics Letters; Nonlinear Optics
1995 Honorary Prof., School of Physics and Astronomy, University of St. Andrews, Scotland
1991 Member of the Editorial Advisory Board of “Nonlinear Optics”
1991 Invited member Phi-Kappa-Phi
1990 Researcher of the year
1986 Co-Recipient of the NTSU President’s Award
1978 Member of the Editorial Board of “Review of Scientific Instruments”

Recent Publications

Vladimir P. Drachev, Alexander V. Kildishev, Joshua D. Borneman, Kuo-Ping Chen, Vladimir M. Shalaev, Konstantin Yamnitskiy, Robert A. Norwood, Nasser Peyghambarian, Seth R. Marder, Lazaro A. Padilha, Scott Webster, Trenton R. Ensley, David J. Hagan, and Eric W. Van Stryland
"“Engineered Nonlinear Materials using Gold Nanoantenna Array”"
Scientific Reports, DOI:10.1038/s41598-017-19066-3 (2018).
P. Zhao, S. Tofighi, R.M. O'Donnell, J.M. Shi, P.Y. Zavalij, M.V. Bondar, D.J. Hagan, E.W. Van Stryland
"Electronic nature of new Ir(III) complexes: linear spectroscopic and nonlinear optical properties"
Journal of Physical Chemistry C, 121(42), pp. 23609-23617
S. Benis, P. Zhao, D.J. Hagan, and E.W. Van Stryland
"Nondegenerate, transient nonlinear refraction of indium tin oxide at epsilon-near-zero"
Nonlinear Optics 2017, Waikoloa, Hawaii, NW1A.3.
S. Benis, P. Zhao, H. Pattanaik, D.J. Hagan, and E.W. Van Stryland
"Time-resolved nonlinear refraction of indium tin oxide at epsilon near zero"
Conference on Lasers and Electro-Optics (CLEO), San Jose, California
D.J. Hagan, M. Reichert, P. Zhao, H.S. Pattanaik, and E.W. Van Stryland
"Nondegenerate nonlinear refraction, absorption, and gain in semiconductors"
SPIE Ultrafast Bandgap Photonics 3SPIE DCS conference, Anaheim, April 15 - 19
S. Benis, D.J. Hagan, and E.W. Van Stryland
"Cross-propagating beam-deflection measurements of third-order nonlinear optical susceptibility"
Nonlinear Frequency Generation and Conversion: Materials and Devices XVI, Proceedings of SPIE, 10088
D.J. Hagan, H.S. Pattanaik, P. Zhao, M. Reichert, and E.W. Van Stryland
"Extremely nondegenerate two-photon processes in semiconductors"
5th International Conference on Photonics, Optics, and Laser Technology, pp.65-69
D.J. Hagan, H.S. Pattanaik and E.W. Van Stryland
"Pulsed IR detection using nondegenerate two-photon absorption in uncooled photodiodes"
Seminar, IIT Delhi, February 9
M.J. Soileau, E.W. Van Stryland, and D. Hagan
"Nonlinear beam deflection measurements of nonlinear refraction and absorption dynamics"
International Pacific Rim Laser Damage Conference (PLD2017), Jiagang (Shanghaie), China, May 21-23
E.W. Van Stryland and D.J. Hagan
"Extremely nondegenerate enhancement of third-order nonlinearities in semiconductors"
Photonics 2016, Kanpur India, December, invited


Science & Technology Skip Navigation Links.
Semiconductor Lasers
Ultrafast Lasers
Optoelectronics & Integrated Photonics
Quantum Dots & Nanostructures
Oxide Semiconductors
Nonlinear & Quantum Optics
Nonlinear Optical Materials
Nonlinear Optics & Spectroscopy
Nonlinear Optics in Periodic Structures
Photosensitive Glasses
Imaging, Sensing & Display
Infrared Sensors & Systems
Applications Skip Navigation Links.
Laser Protectors
Contact Webmaster © University of Central Florida
4304 Scorpius St., Orlando FL 32816-2700 | 407-823-6800