Dennis Deppe

Dennis Deppe

Professor of Optics & Photonics

Awards & Honors

  • IEEE Photonics Society Fellow
  • The Optical Society (OSA) Fellow
  • 2004 Cullen Trust Endowed Professorship, UT Austin, 2004-2005
  • 2003 IEEE LEOS Engineering Achievement Award
  • 2001 IEEE LEOS Distinguished Lecturer
  • 1999 OSA Nicholas Holonyak Award
  • 1991 Robert & Jane Mitchell Endowed Faculty Fellowship in Engineering, UT Austin, 1991-2003
  • 1991 National Science Foundation Presidential Young Investigator Award
  • 1991 Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Award

Research Group

A III-V epitaxial growth facility used to research new types of semiconductor heterostructures and devices that include quantum dots, quantum dot laser diodes, vertical-cavity surface-emitting laser diodes, spontaneous light sources, and single quantum dots. A characterization laboratory is used to study the optical properties of the samples, including their light emission, microcavity effects, and laser diode characteristics.